Nominations are invited for the 2020 Tasmanian Awards Program

For managers and aspiring managers in local government in Tasmania whose contribution is, in the opinion of their employing councils or colleagues, worthy of special acknowledgement.

The LG Professionals Australia National Federation Awards is an annual celebration of outstanding achievements in local government for individuals and councils.

The Awards honour local governments for their efforts in making a difference in their communities, by showcasing innovative solutions that demonstrate leading practices, deliver quality services and better outcomes for communities, and have the potential to be replicated across the country.

Here in Tasmania, the Awards Program has been designed to support the national awards with the state winners being entered into the national competition.

There are five categories of which the Emerging Leader Award is the only category that is an individual award category.

Tasmanian winners will be recognised in front of industry peers at our state conference at Orford in October 2020.

The National Awards will be presented at the 2020 Awards Dinner in Canberra in November 2020 where the winners will receive a trophy for their council and individual certificates for all team members.

All national category winners will be celebrated in the wider local government sector after the ceremony in an awards publication circulated industry-wide.

Winners will have the opportunity to self-promote through a publicity program with LG Professionals Australia which may include presenting at associated events.


Download the appropriate Awards Submission Guidelines below.

Nominations should be submitted online by COB Friday 10 July 2020.  No late submissions will be accepted.

Please note the submission requirements below:

  • Please include a cover page that indicates the award category, name of applicant or team members, name of council, and relevant contact details.
  • Your application should address all selection criteria. Please refer to Assessment Criteria Section for more details.
    • A 150-word limit applies to the overview criteria.
    • A 350-word limit applies to the other four criteria
  • For the Emerging Leader of the Year Award, there is only one selection criteria. Please refer to Assessment Criteria Section for more details. Applicants must be under 35 years old and have worked in local government for at least 2 years.
  • Optional: Short attachments are welcomed (10-page limit on attachments).
  • Optional: Links to multimedia can be included in the submission or attachments.
2020 Tas Awards Submission Guidelines
2020 Tas Awards Submission Guidelines Emerging Leader


Sponsor of Innovative Management Initiative Award
Sponsor of the Emerging Leader Award