The annual LG Professionals National Awards celebrate the achievements of both individuals and councils advancing their communities.

The Awards are designed to honour Local Governments for their effort in making a difference in their communities by showcasing the innovative solutions that demonstrate leading practice, deliver quality services and better outcomes for communities, and have the potential to be replicated across the country.

LG Professionals Tasmania President, Gary Arnold, said that the Awards are a great opportunity to recognise and celebrate the achievements of Local Government managers and to encourage the adoption of best practice in Tasmanian Councils.

“The awards are an opportunity to recognise the outstanding work being undertaken by Councils across the State. Through these awards, Local Government can acknowledge and learn from the best of Local Government initiatives in the state, noting the differing environments and communities that they serve,” Mr Arnold said.

LG Professionals Tasmania is proud to announce the winners of the Tasmanian Regional Awards. The Regional winners are now eligible to compete in the National Awards that will take place at the LG Professionals National Congress & Business Expo Gala Dinner to be held in Darwin on Thursday 1 August 2019.

Emerging Leader of the Year Award

Erica McKinnell
Community Services Project Officer
Break O’Day Council

Environmental Leadership and Sustainability Award

Dion Lester – Local Government Association of Tasmania
Project: Feasibility Study into Statewide Waste Management

Innovative Management Initiative Award

Paul West – Devonport City Council
Project: LIVING CITY Devonport

Excellence in Community Development and Service Delivery Award

Claudia Taylor & Sarah McCormack – City of Launceston
Project: ABCDE Learning Sites

Partnerships and Collaboration Award

Rebecca Stevenson – Huon Valley Council
Project: Evacuation Centre

The annual Raymond West Scholarship program is open to emerging Local Government leaders, committed to advancing the profession of Local Government to build better communities.

The 2019 recipients are:

Katelyn Cragg, Project Officer
Local Government Association of Tasmania

Sandy Loring, Environmental Health Officer
Burnie City Council

The scholarship enables Katelyn and Sandy to attend the LG Professionals Australia National Congress in Darwin from 31 July until 2 August 2019.

LG Professionals Tasmania is the leading professional association representing managers and aspiring managers working in the Local Government sector in Tasmania.  LG Professionals aims to ensure that Local Government management continues to develop and improve; that the highest professional and ethical standards are maintained and that our members are at the forefront of change and innovation.

Media contact:

Mary Frost, 0438 100 076